Major Interview

Collini sows seeds and harvests taste

by -


Christophe Collini is one of those who has changed how he lives in order to give meaning to it. A former executive at Siemens in Morocco, he led a busy professional life, full of stress and responsibilities. His former lifestyle is a distant cry from his current one, where the commotion of big cities has been replaced by the chatter of birds. Now, the only constraints that weigh on him are those imposed by the seasons.

Return to the land

We met with Christophe Collini in Saint-Pever, in the Côtes-d’Armor (22), ten kilometers from Guingamp. It was here were he put down his roots in 2011, at the age of 46. Was it a return to the source (his parents live nearby)? “No, it was more like a real wake-up call. When my daughter was born in 2003, I could no longer accept the world in which we were living!” he responded.

He began with a long period of introspection, then a search for land where he could grow rare aromatic plants and forgotten vegetables. In the time since, Christophe Collini met his partner Rachel while making his way through the market, and the adventure of market gardening thus became the business affair of the couple. But let us not forget, there is also Emilien, an intern who lends them a strong hand.

Collini, the “hunter of taste”

Today, Christophe Collini’s collection of seeds are starting to take up a lot of space on the first floor of his Breton farmhouse. Over time, he has disseminated his ideas, reaping some success with chefs eager for new taste experiences. Today, he works with twenty-some restaurants, straddling the line between Brittany and Paris.

This is someone who defines himself as a “hunter of taste“, digging through the internet and flushing out rare, or “extinct”, varieties during his travels and through seed exchanges with enthusiasts from around the world (from Latin America to the Far East and Europe). Each seed is a pretext for a savory tale: the old Uzbek who entrusted him with a pepper threatened with extinction can now thank him… Through the passion – and patience – of Christophe, the pepper has been saved!

From collection to Conservatory

Once collected, he begins his period of experimentation: he works to acclimate the seeds to Brittany’s climate and soil. And the results are in. A proponent of biodynamic agriculture and self-learning, he currently grows 1,400 different varieties of fruits and vegetables. On his 3.5-hectare estate, he cultivates turnips, pumpkins, cabbage, eggplant, tomatoes, mesclun, squash… not to mention aromatic plants.

A member of Semences Paysannes, Christophe Collini is well aware that only this work of saving seeds will allow for the preservation of biodiversity. It is an action of value and activism. At a time of monstrous alchemies made by Bayer-Monsanto-Syngenta, Christophe Collini does not plan on stopping there. The next step will be the creation of a Conservatory of Taste, where he plans to share his once extinct varieties with market gardeners, to put them back into cultivation, and to enable them to find their way into market stands… and fine restaurants. (Video in French)

Photos: Copyright Goûts d’Ouest

Grand entretien

Collini sème des graines et récolte du goût

Par -


Christophe Collini fait partie de ceux qui ont changé de vie pour lui donner un sens. Ancien cadre chez Siemens au Maroc, il menait une vie professionnelle bien remplie, pleine de stress et de responsabilités. Un emploi du temps à mille lieues de sa vie actuelle, où le vacarme des grandes villes a été remplacé par le bavardage des oiseaux. Désormais, les seules contraintes qui pèsent sont celles imposées par les saisons.

Le retour à la terre

Nous avons rencontré Christophe Collini à Saint-Pever, dans les Côtes-d’Armor (22), à dix kilomètres de Guingamp. C’est ici qu’il a pris racine en 2011, à l’âge de 46 ans. Un retour aux sources (ses parents vivent non loin)? « Non, plutôt une vraie claque, lorsque ma fille est née en 2003, je n’acceptais plus le monde dans lequel on vivait! » répond t’il.

Commence alors une longue introspection, puis une recherche de terrain pour y semer des plantes aromatiques rares et des légumes oubliés. Depuis que Christophe Collini a rencontré Rachel au détour du marché, l’aventure du maraîchage est devenue l’affaire du couple. Sans oublier Emilien, stagiaire, qui leur prête main forte.

Collini, le chasseur de goût

Aujourd’hui, la collection de semences de Christophe Collini commence à prendre beaucoup de place au premier étage de sa longère bretonne. Avec le temps, il a égrainé ses idées, récoltant quelques succès auprès de chefs avides d’expériences gustatives inédites. A ce jour, il travaille pour une vingtaine de restaurants, à cheval entre la Bretagne et Paris.

Celui qui se définit comme un « chasseur de goût » fouine sur internet, débusque des variétés rares, voire “disparues”, lors de voyages, échange des semences avec des passionnés du monde entier (de l’Amérique latine à l’Extrême-Orient, en passant par l’Europe). Chaque semence est prétexte à un savoureux récit : le vieillard ouzbek qui lui a confié un piment menacé de disparition peut le remercier… Grâce à la passion – et à la patience – de Christophe, le piment est sauvé!

De la collection au Conservatoire

Commence ensuite le temps des expérimentations: il s’agit d’acclimater les semences au climat et au sol bretons. Et les résultats sont là. Adepte de la biodynamie et autodidacte, il cultive actuellement 1400 variétés différentes de fruits et de légumes. Sur un domaine de 3,5 hectares, sont produits notamment navets, courges, choux, aubergines, tomates, mesclun, courgettes… Sans parler des plantes aromatiques.

Membre de Semences Paysannes, Christophe Collini est bien conscient que seul ce travail de sauvegarde des semences permettra de préserver la biodiversité. Une démarche militante et précieuse. A l’heure des alchimies monstrueuses Bayer-Monsanto-Syngenta, Christophe Collini ne compte pas en rester là. L’étape suivante sera la création d’un Conservatoire du goût, pour partager ses variétés disparues avec des maraîchers, pour les remettre en culture et leur permettre de retrouver le chemin des étals… et des bonnes tables.

Photos: copyright Goûts d’ouest

Télécharger la synthèse de la journée Sortons l’Agriculture du Salon