A lending hand

Beaucal, long live artisanal ketchup!

by -


Farah comes from the restaurant world, while Mélanie, she loves graphic arts, even if she has mainly worked in business management and administration. Together, these two young women from Toulouse have decided to set up Beaucal, an artisanal condiment business that is 100% local and 100% plant-based. They have a bit of everything, even ketchup!

Artisanal condiments are good for the environment, better for our health, and have more flavor…. Installed in the Lèze Valley between Haute-Garonne and Ariège, Beaucal is a newly minted condiment business. The goal for Farah and Mélanie is to offer savory, healthy, and natural condiments, without the use of dyes, preservatives, or thickening agents. Their entire line is made from their region’s best agricultural products: fruits and vegetables are bought from small local producers who work in respect to their lands and the seasons. “If you are a market gardner working in permaculture, organic farming, the transition to organic farming, hydroponics, or nothing in particular, don’t hesitate to contact us, the more of us there are, the more ketchups we make!” they state, with a touch of humor, on the crowdfunding page that they recently launched.

Conserverie Beaucal

Little by little, they are constructing a solid network of local market gardeners, working in small batches with each of them, and reducing the maximum in waste. Today, these two young women have decided to leave the collective laboratory that they shared and are building their own processing lab, which they are gladly willing to open up to nearby shops so that they may transform their unsold vegetables (into soup or other things), when the two women are not using it. It is a wonderful local adventure in which we can give a lending hand, and whose products we can buy online!

Support the project on Miimosa / Discover Beaucal

Coup de pouce

Beaucal, vive le ketchup artisanal

Par -


Farah vient du monde de la restauration, Mélanie, elle, aime les arts graphiques, même si elle a surtout touché à la gestion et l’administration des entreprises. Ensemble, les deux jeunes toulousaines ont décidé de monter Beaucal, une conserverie artisanale 100% locale et 100% végétale. On y trouve un peu de tout, et même du ketchup !

Les conserves artisanales, c’est bon pour l’environnement, c’est meilleur pour notre santé, et ça a plus de goût… Implantée dans la vallée de la Lèze entre Haute-Garonne et Ariège, Beaucal est une toute jeune conserverie. L’objectif pour Farah et Mélanie : proposer des conserves savoureuses, saines et naturelles, sans colorant, conservateur ni épaississant. Le tout en privilégiant le meilleur de l’agriculture de leur région : fruits et légumes sont achetés à de petits producteurs locaux qui travaillent dans le respect de leurs terres et des saisons. « Si tu es maraicher en permaculture, en bio ou conversion bio, en hydroponie ou en rien en particulier, n’hésites pas à nous contacter, plus on est de fou plus on fait des ketchups ! » précisent-elles avec un brin d’humour dans l’appel à crowfunding qu’elles viennent de lancer.

Conserverie Beaucal

Petit à petit, elles se construisent ainsi un réseau solide de maraîchers locaux, travaillant par petites séries avec chacun d’entre eux, et réduisant au maximum les déchets. Aujourd’hui, les deux jeunes femmes, ont décidé de quitter le laboratoire collectif qu’elles partageaient et de construire leur propre laboratoire de transformation, qu’elles prêteront volontiers aux épiceries aux alentours pour transformer leurs légumes invendu (en soupe ou autre) lorsqu’elles ne s’en servent pas. Une jolie aventure locale à laquelle on peut donner un petit coup de pouce, et dont on peut aussi acheter les produits en ligne!

Soutenir le projet sur Miimosa / Découvrir Beaucal