Portfolios

Caroline Lopez & Studio Exquisite

by -

Cuisin’ Situ, a project by Caroline Lopez and Studio Exquisite, is something between a culinary voyage around the world (by bicycle, thank you very much!) and the experience of the esthetic and taste transmission with Paris.
caroline-lopez4

Fish cooking at low temperature

caroline-lopez5

Rice (in a bag) salad

13100938_10207904450122474_3639624326018075638_n

Tropical panna cotta

caroline-lopez6

Ice of the Himalayas

caroline-lopez2

No-bake apple tart

caroline-lopez7

Nettle soup

Caroline Lopez left last year on a voyage of performance: 400 days of wandering the world’s roads by bicycle, her home packed into her bike’s bag racks, her kitchen rationed as if a game of Russian dolls. She left to discover wild and domesticated foods, traditional and improvised techniques, to offer new forms to her vision of designing. Her goal: to feed herself while giving preference to all of the elements and foods included in her local environment yet while also having very little means. She had limited equipment but a space and freedom without comparison, which she shared on her blog Cuisin’situ.

On the other side of the world, Rachel and Marion, two residents of the culinary design studio Exquisite, worked under the constraints of their apartment kitchens, which were well-equipped but tiny. The ingredients at their disposal were also intimately tied to the seasons and geography, and served as an impetus of inventiveness, from one side of the world to the other.

By connecting these two instances of creation, this collaboration naturally comes to question the notions of comfort and opulence. Unexpected and full of humor, it is an adventure in resourcefulness and recipes from off the beaten track!

You can check out this collaboration May 12, to July 31, 2016 within the program of the SocialFood. exhibition in Montreuil.

Portfolios

Caroline Lopez & Studio Exquisite

Par -

Cuisin' Situ, un projet de Caroline Lopez et du Studio Exquisite entre voyage culinaire autour du monde (à bicyclette, s'il vous plait!) et expérience de transmission esthétique et gustative avec Paris.
caroline-lopez4

Poissons en cuisson basse température

caroline-lopez5

La salade de riz (de poche)

13100938_10207904450122474_3639624326018075638_n

Une pannacotta tropicale

caroline-lopez6

La glace de l’Himalaya

caroline-lopez2

La tarte aux pommes sans four

caroline-lopez7

La soupe aux orties

Caroline Lopez est partie l’an passé en voyage performance : 400 jours d’itinérance sur les routes du monde à vélo, sa maison empaquetée sur son porte-bagages, sa cuisine rationalisée telle un jeu de poupées russes. Elle est partie à la découverte d’aliments sauvages ou domestiqués, de techniques traditionnelles ou improvisées, pour en proposer sa vision de designer dans des formes nouvelles. Son objectif : se nourrir en valorisant tous les éléments et aliments compris dans son environnement proche au moyen de peu de moyens. Elle disposait d’un équipement restreint mais d’un espace et d’une liberté sans pareille, qu’elle partageait sur son blog Cuisin’situ.

De l’autre côté, Rachel et Marion, les deux citadines du Studio de design culinaire Exquisite, travaillaient sous la contrainte de leurs cuisines d’appartement, bien équipées mais trop petites. Les ingrédients à disposition étaient eux aussi intimement liés aux saisons ou à la géographie, et ont constitué un levier d’inventivité, d’un côté comme de l’autre.

En connectant ces deux pôles de création, cette collaboration questionne naturellement les notions de confort et d’opulence. Inattendue et pleine d’humour, c’est une aventure de système D et de recettes hors des sentiers battus !

Cette collaboration est à découvrir du 12 mai au 31 juillet 2016 dans le cadre de l’exposition à Montreuil, SocialFood.